NOTICE TO STUDENTS

SCHOOL INFORMATION

Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate is approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission for the purpose of offering real estate education courses to licensees and licensee candidates. Our school code is 3651 and our approval by the Georgia Real Estate Commission is renewable on December 31, 2012. The mission of our school is to provide creative, interesting and informative courses in support of state-minded education programs for licensure and continuing education for professional competency.


SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

Students must attend all scheduled course classes, be on time and present for all in-class hours in order to receive credit for the course. In-class instruction and testing in any course will not exceed six hours per day. Fifteen minute breaks for every two hours of instruction are allowed.


MAKE-UP POLICY

• PRELICENSE COURSE

Each Instructor will inform Students of the make-up policy per course.


• POST LICENSE COURSE / FAST START

No make-up offered


• CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES

No make-up offered

PROGRAM OBJECTIVES

I. Prelicense Course Offered in Residence

Prelicense courses are offered to the general public in class to satisfy the educational requirements for licensure as required by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. The primary focus is to introduce students to the language of the real estate profession and basic theory underlying the duties and responsibilities of real estate licensees. Reading, written assignments and final examinations are required. Prelicense courses require seventy-five in-class hours of instruction. Fundamentals of the course include the following:


• Real estate contracts
• Real estate instruments and conveyances
• Closing procedures
• Law of Agency and Agency disclosure
• Pricing real property
• Real estate financing
• Community association management activities and property management activities
• Environmental laws
• Taxation
• City and urban development
• Fair Housing
• Anti-trust laws
• Safety precautions
• Georgia's real estate license law
• `Other areas as the commission may from time to time require or authorize


II. Postlicense Course Offered in Residence

Postlicensing courses are offered to licensees and must provide twenty-five hours of instruction. Reading, written assignments and final examinations are required. Licensees must complete a Postlicense course within one year of obtaining a salesperson license. The curriculum of the course focuses on legal fundamentals and / or basic practices in sales management of residential, agricultural, commercial or industrial properties.


III. Continuing Education Offered in Residence

Continuing education courses are specific in topic and are offered to enhance licensee's professionalism and to elevate awareness to the need of further study and perfection of practical skills. The Georgia Real Estate Commission requires that each real estate licensee complete six hours of continuing education for each year of the four-year license renewal period. Courses may be 3 hours minimum in-class instruction and 24 hours maximum.


Outside Assignments, Examinations and Grading Policies

Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate endorses the usage of reading and written assignments, quizzes, graded essays, graded contracts or forms, class reports, mid-term examinations, final examinations and other sound educational tools to assess a student's knowledge and competency of the course material.

Outside Assignments:

Prelicense and Postlicense courses include appropriate reading and written assignments to enhance further study and the perfection of practical skills.
The instructor will notify the student in writing of all homework assignments
or out-of-class assignments that must be completed in order to pass a course.
Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate requires that each of the assignments
completed out of class and submitted for grading by a student include a statement signed and dated by the student stating that he / she has personally completed the assignment.

Examinations:

The Georgia Real Estate Commission requires final examinations in the Prelicense, Postlicense and Brokers Prelicense courses. For continuing education courses, the Commission does not require a final examination; however, courses that lead to a professional designation offered by a real estate trade association may require that a student pass the examination to receive credit for the course. Final examinations for the Prelicense, Postlicense and Brokers Prelicense courses must be taken on a day that does not include classroom instruction.


Grading

The instructor, the school director or the school coordinator of Middle Georgia Academy must grade the course work that students prepare outside of class. The signed homework certification statement will be retained in the student's records and course files.

The standard for passing the Salesperson Prelicense and Brokers Prelicense course examinations is 75% correct. After successful completion of the course, the school coordinator will transfer the student's graduation date to AMP online.
Students may telephone AMP 48 hours after Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate transmits verification of passing ( 1-800-345-6559 between the hours of
9:30 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday - Friday).

Successful completion of the course certifies students to take the state real estate examination. Cost of the test is $98.00. The exam is given Thursday through Saturday each week in Macon, Georgia, at the following location:

Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc.
Northwest Commons Shopping Center
Suite 16 Thomaston Road at Heath Road
Macon, GA

Testing is at 8:30 a.m. with licensing from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on the above designated days. Test scores are available immediately following the completion of the test. Minimum passing score is 75%. Retakes are unlimited; however, the state charges $91 for each retake. Application for licensure is submitted via e- mail to the Georgia Real Estate Commission from the test site in Macon and is normally available for pick-up the same afternoon.

SCHOOL RECORDS

Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate will manage and maintain all records of all courses and students participating in those records for a period of five years. Records will include the following:

• Name of Course
• Course Code
• Content Outline and Learning Objectives
• Time and Date of course
• Student name, address, phone number
• Attendance records
• Exams
• Grades
• Payments and receipts
• Course evaluations
• Biographical information on instructors
• Other records the Commission from time to time requires and/or authorizes


AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate complies with all related provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate will not discriminate in its fees, enrollment, or completion policies on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, familial status or handicap.

FEES

There will be no refund after purchasing the course. Tuition, however, can be transferred to a later course date (only if classes have not yet started). A $100 transfer fee will be required. Revisions to the text materials will require transfer students to purchase new textbooks. A $35 service charge will be assessed for any returned checks. The fee schedule for courses offered by Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate is as follows:

• Sales Prelicense Course $550 (includes books) $550
• Sales Prelicense On-line Course (books not included) $400
• Brokers 60-Hour On-line Course (books not included) $400
• Sales Postlicense Course $175
• Continuing Education Courses $30


PROHIBITION OF RECRUITING

No recruiting for employment opportunities for any real estate brokerage firm is allowed in the class or on the premises of Middle Georgia Academy of Real Estate. Any effort to recruit anyone should be promptly reported to Dorothy Mitchell, school Director, at 478-960-1834 / 1501 Bass Road, Macon, GA 31210 or the Georgia real Estate Commission.

Instructors and school directors/coordinators will promptly report to the Commission any efforts to recruit students outside the guidelines established above.


MISCELLANEOUS

Cell phones, pagers, children or pets are NOT allowed in classrooms.


revised 1/03/08